Autumn’s Reflection

This shot was taken pre-dawn by about 5 minutes here, so there is no direct sunlight on these trees.  This and the fog slightly mutes the colors, but it was still light enough to pick up all the different hues in the trees.  From  my education as an optometrist, I’m always curious to see how colors turn out in pictures compared to what my brain saw them as at the time the picture was taken.  Have you ever noticed that a blue flower looks more vibrant and colorful when the sun is low in the sky or in total shade?  And how that same blue flower may look completely different in the middle of the day.  This is because your color vision is associated with two different types of vision: Scotopic and Photopic.  In short, the rods and cones in the back of your eye are responsible for capturing what you see.  There are 120 million rods and around 6-7 millions cones.  During well-lit vision (photopic), the cones are primarily used and they perceive three main wavelengths of blue, blue-green and yellow-green, which essentially provides normal color perception.  However, during low-light vision (scotopic), the cones are essentially non-functional and the eye uses mainly rods for color perception.  These rods are most sensitive to the blue-green wavelength and therefore, objects that reflect this specific wavelength appear brighter and more vibrant than during a well-lit time.  And I guess my thought is, if I look at a picture that was taken during low-light conditions, do I still perceive the scene the same as I would while I was standing there.  Just a cool thought about your eyes and color perception that I thought all you photogs would enjoy.

6 responses

  1. Another winner here Scott, this is beautiful! I love the soft pastels!

    November 3, 2011 at 9:56 am

  2. Dude, I was hooked reading that. That was very cool. Now when I look at something I’m gunna try and figure out what part of my eye I’m using now, lol.

    November 3, 2011 at 10:59 am

  3. Beautifully done Scott! The way you explained how we see light adds a whole new dimension to color correction!

    November 3, 2011 at 11:46 am

  4. Dang Scott, this is another stellar shot. You have been rocking it like a mad boss all week!

    November 3, 2011 at 12:36 pm

  5. Beautiful shot Scott. My eyes are “seeing” a very beautiful landscape right now. 🙂

    November 3, 2011 at 2:07 pm

  6. That’s a terrific result. The fog looks quite surreal. Very peaceful.

    November 7, 2011 at 12:10 pm

Leave a Reply

