Fog at First Light

Had one of the best outings I’ve had in a while this past Saturday morning.  I was fortunate enough to find that the fall foliage was hanging around, waiting for me to get back up to Manhattan before making it’s total transition.  Last time I was up, I spent the morning at the River Pond on the south side of Tuttle Creek Dam and basically spent the morning scouting locations.  There wasn’t that great of color change and the conditions were just so-so.  Well, this past weekend was another story entirely.  I woke up early, before twilight lifted, and made my way to the park to buy my vehicle permit.  After that I made my way down to the water’s edge to find a spot overlooking the lake.  There is a small centralized island of trees in the middle of the pond that I was hoping to shoot this time with some fall colors.  What I didn’t expect was the amount of fog that was laying on the surface.  Huge pockets of dense fog rolled across a lower lying sheet of fog that lied directly above the smooth water surface.  I couldn’t shoot fast enough.  Reflected Autumn colors all around and the sun was quickly rising.  I debated about breaking out my ND filters but I didn’t want to get complacent in one location and miss out on some other opportunities.  So I grabbed a few (25 or so) shots per location and then moved on.  This shot was taken at the first spot I stopped at and it was about 10 minutes or so before sunrise.

16 responses

  1. Scott this is just amazing! I love the mist over the water, the soft pastel tones and the reflections. Breathtaking work here man!

    October 31, 2011 at 8:57 am

  2. All I have is WOW!! I mean this is such a gorgeous and wonderful shot. Damn great work!

    October 31, 2011 at 9:02 am

  3. Wow, simply beautiful my friend!

    October 31, 2011 at 9:25 am

  4. Amazing. Simple and atmospheric. Well done.

    October 31, 2011 at 10:12 am

  5. Gorgeous shot Scott! The colors are fantastic.

    October 31, 2011 at 11:05 am

  6. This is fantastic Scott! The colors have almost a pastel attribute to them.

    October 31, 2011 at 11:50 am

  7. Rick

    Wow! Fantastic capture!

    October 31, 2011 at 11:51 am

  8. Amazing as usual man. You have the knack!

    October 31, 2011 at 12:12 pm

  9. What a wonderful scene! Well done! Can’t wait to see more!

    October 31, 2011 at 12:30 pm

  10. Outstanding Scott. Simply outstanding!

    October 31, 2011 at 12:49 pm

  11. Absolutely perfect! The muted colors with the mist and those wonderful reflections – could not have asked for more. Great shot.

    October 31, 2011 at 1:13 pm

  12. Amazing photograph! Love the subtle colors with the mist. Love the reflection in the water too! Good work 🙂

    October 31, 2011 at 1:30 pm

  13. Beautiful!

    October 31, 2011 at 4:48 pm

  14. What a stunning shot on such a fabulous morning. Ethereal and tranquil

    October 31, 2011 at 5:20 pm

  15. This is beautiful. I am in awe 🙂 Looks like a painting. I like how you didn’t go overboard with the saturation, God knows I would have… haha. I love it.

    November 1, 2011 at 5:30 am

  16. lou

    Spectacular shot there scott..would you mind letting us know what type/brand of ND Filter you use with your Tokina 11-16 lens?

    January 11, 2012 at 3:46 am

Leave a Reply

