M31

Also known as the Andromeda Galaxy.  I took this shot on Monday night while out waiting for the northern lights to appear.  When I initially arrived at my dark sky location, I didn’t see anything that resembled the northern lights, so I figured I’d take a shot at capturing Andromeda.  I had a fairly good idea where it was located in the sky thanks to the 14mm shot from the monument rocks I posted a few days ago as well as my buddies good skymaps on his phone.  After a few 30 sec exploration shots I was able to get it in the shot with my 85mm 1.8.  I chose this lens because it was the fastest lens I had with the longest focal length.  I was originally going to post this image on Tuesday but it was quickly given a back seat to my northern lights shots so I’ll go ahead and post it today.

3 responses

  1. This is so sweet. I have to try this. Did you crop the image to further the zoom?

    October 28, 2011 at 12:43 pm

    • Thanks man. Yeah this is cropped down a little. I want to say it’s about a 1/2 crop of the original picture area I think.

      October 31, 2011 at 9:13 am

  2. That is awesome, id like to know if it was cropped also. Even if it was, beside the point, looks great!

    October 28, 2011 at 1:37 pm

Leave a Reply

