Northern Lights….from KS

Okay, so I heard a good photog buddy of mine from NE KS was capturing some crazy good Aurora activity last night around 9:20.  I also caught wind of a guy down in Arkansas that was even capturing them.  I guess you could say the northern lights are on my bucket list of things to see and capture so of course I had to drive out and see if anything was happening around my neck of the woods.  I didn’t make it in time to capture the maximum of the storm.  The lights I was able to capture were so faint that it barely looked like a red hue to the sky, but even then, you had to use a little imagination.  However, a long exposure with a fast lens was more than enough to capture the wave as it was weakening.

7 responses

  1. Dude, this is incredible! What a sight! Pure magic here Scott, really outstanding!

    October 25, 2011 at 9:15 am

  2. Amazing how these “northern lights” weren’t very northern last night 🙂 Nice shot buddy!

    October 25, 2011 at 9:17 am

  3. Pretty cool you were able to catch them in KS.

    October 25, 2011 at 9:57 am

  4. That is really something special. I love it!

    October 25, 2011 at 9:57 am

  5. Awesome shot. I’ve only seen the Northern Lights once before, and that also was in Kansas. I guess the wide open spaces help the view. Cool shot.

    October 25, 2011 at 10:12 am

  6. Wow! Very cool.

    October 25, 2011 at 10:12 am

  7. Rick

    Wow! Awesome! I didn’t realize you could see it here in the lower 48.

    October 25, 2011 at 12:31 pm

Leave a Reply

