Tracks to the Fog

‘Plan B’ was in full effect on Saturday morning.  We were up in Manhattan for the awesome KSU/BU game and I always try and take advantage of the local scenery when I’m up in MHK.  There is quite a few more options up there than around where I live.  I initially made the trip out to a local waterfall spot called ‘Pillsbury Crossing’ to take some early fall pics of the waterfalls, but unfortunately with the dry conditions, they were barely flowing.

So, on the way out of town towards ‘Pillsbury’ I noticed an extremely dense fog over the Blue River and only over the Blue.  No where else was there any fog to be found.  I knew there was a steel railroad bridge that spanned the river and I have always wanted to try and see if I could grab some shots of it.  This seemed to be my obvious back up plan for the morning.  And it turned out to be an awesome spot.  Only took about three or so comps on the tracks and spent the rest of the time shooting the bridge from down stream.

Hope everyone’s week is off to a good start!

Oh, and like always, I wasn’t sure if I liked the B&W conversion better or the original color (amazing blue hour that morning) so I will give you both.

10 responses

  1. I think the black and white is more powerful, nice shot man.

    October 3, 2011 at 8:34 am

  2. Freaking LOVE the fog. The thicker the better too. If it looks like milk floating through the trees, I’m good. Nice stuff man.

    October 3, 2011 at 10:00 am

  3. I’m a huge fan of bw and normally would opt for that, but the color version is very unique in the hue. I like the different look it brings.

    October 3, 2011 at 10:02 am

  4. Great shot, love the color version surprisingly, usually a mono kind of guy with fog. Love this Scotty.

    October 3, 2011 at 10:48 am

  5. I gotta go with the color version here, Scott! Nice “Plan B”!

    October 3, 2011 at 11:02 am

  6. I like both a ton, but I’m going to settle on the B&W image. Just like the emotion you get from that image better. Well done on the image, the composition is perfect!

    October 3, 2011 at 11:49 am

  7. Fantastic. Love that color version.

    October 3, 2011 at 1:26 pm

  8. I love B&W but this time around I’d have to go with the color. The blue light mixed with the fog is amazing.

    October 3, 2011 at 8:55 pm

  9. Normally I’m a B&W kinda guy, but the color version here is great! Actually they are both great, but I’m leaning towards the color!! 🙂

    October 4, 2011 at 10:21 pm

  10. Definitely gotta go with the first color one. That looks awesome. I want to see the other shots of the bridge now! Nice work!

    November 30, 2011 at 3:15 pm

Leave a Reply

