Milky Way @ Monument Rocks

You guys better get used to some Milky Way shots.  Took a lot of pics up at the Monument Rocks Park in NW KS on Sunday night.  Had a clear sky with very little light pollution.  By far the best Milky Way opportunity that I’ve had.  I’m only a little disappointed in myself that I didn’t get up there sooner in the summer when the galactic core was higher in the sky.  This shot was a 49 second exposure at f/2.8 and at 14mm.  Used a light off to my left to illuminate the rocks.

9 responses

  1. Holy crap Scott. This is freaking awesome!

    September 27, 2011 at 9:52 am

  2. WOW…and I mean WOW! This is an incredible shot.

    September 27, 2011 at 10:04 am

  3. Gah! Soo jealous man, lol. This is freaking cool. Makes me almost wish for a freaking power outage where I live…

    September 27, 2011 at 10:07 am

  4. This is awesome Scott – incredible work!

    September 27, 2011 at 10:16 am

  5. Freaking Awesome…That is all!

    September 27, 2011 at 10:22 am

  6. Awesome man! Don’t worry about us getting tired of Milky Way shots, you just keep ’em coming!

    September 27, 2011 at 12:13 pm

  7. Another fantastic image, great job dude

    September 27, 2011 at 1:25 pm

  8. Scotty, this is just great. What a fantastic scene! Can’t wait for more.

    September 27, 2011 at 3:43 pm

  9. Epically captured! I can only hope to accomplish something like that someday in my life – so much light pollution here in New England that it’s hard to even attempt 😦

    September 27, 2011 at 8:59 pm

Leave a Reply

