Exposed and Amped

My buddy and I were only allowed to shoot Survivor near the stage for the first three songs of the concert and then we were required to move back away from the stage.  A clause in their contract stipulated that.  So, on my FF, the longest focal length I’ve got in my bag is only 85mm.  After shooting right next to the band, shooting back 150 feet isn’t as exciting.  So, I made the best of the situation and set up my tripod and messed around with some long exposure shots.  This was the best one I was able to get of a dude playing a piano solo while the band got a drink.  The second is a little closer shot of some of the gear set up on stage.  Just liked the blue hue of it as well as the star burst.

Hope everyone has a great weekend filled with some amazing light.  And on another quick  I haven’t had the time to get over to many of your blogs to see your latest shots due to the pre-school rush of parents trying to get their kids in for last minute exams, but I wanted to say a quick thank you to all of you who continue to drop by daily to check out my latest posts.  Very much appreciate the daily comments and critiques!

‘Exposed’

‘Amped’

6 responses

  1. I like how you managed to get a star burst off the light on the amp. Nice way to capture some blur as well. Good end to this series, Scott.

    August 19, 2011 at 9:16 am

  2. That light burst on the drum kit is fantastic. Love the tones in the shot

    August 19, 2011 at 9:47 am

  3. That’s crazy. Did you have a diffraction filter on by chance?

    August 19, 2011 at 10:30 am

    • No filter on these two. Just a stopped down 25 second shot.

      August 19, 2011 at 2:06 pm

  4. Cool shot! Suprised they let you bing a tripod in! Did you have a press pass or just ask to shoot at the door? I think that is pretty standard to only let togs shoot for the first 3 songs…

    August 19, 2011 at 12:35 pm

    • Yeah, I had a media pass. My bud and I were the official photographers of the event.

      August 19, 2011 at 2:07 pm

Leave a Reply

