The Hues of Morn

I’m really quite glad that I’ve decided over the years to save all my RAW files from previous shoots.  I know they take up a lot of space but as one’s processing skills develop and evolve, it’s always fun to go back and re-edit some of your favorite shots.  Besides, storage media is so cheap these days, there is not much of an argument.  This takes us to our image today.  This is a shot from about a year ago that I never really liked the way I processed it initially so I’ve held back on posting it.  Gave another crack at it last night and really loved the way all the colors merged together as they warmed up the horizon.

13 responses

  1. This is incredible man, I love the soft pastel tones, and th emist is perfect. Well captured!

    August 11, 2011 at 8:16 am

  2. Great comp, and I love the soft misty feel. I keep every single one of my RAW files…hard drive space is cheap 🙂

    August 11, 2011 at 8:18 am

  3. Glad you held on to it!

    August 11, 2011 at 8:19 am

  4. The dead tree in front provides a solid anchor point for this image. Coupled with that reflection and you have a keeper. Nice one Scott.

    August 11, 2011 at 8:30 am

  5. This is outstanding Scott. Love the soft feel and the reflections are spot on.

    August 11, 2011 at 9:07 am

  6. I really dig this. The softness adds an ethereal feel. A great moody shot

    August 11, 2011 at 10:08 am

  7. Rick

    I never get rid of my RAW files. Storage is cheap. This is a great edit! Love the mood of this shot and the colors along the horizon!

    August 11, 2011 at 10:27 am

  8. Wonderful shot man. I have been meaning to do this forever now and just have not had the focus of mind to actually do it! One of these days…

    August 11, 2011 at 11:19 am

  9. Wow Scott, this just rocks! The softness, warm tones and the composition are just outstanding!

    August 11, 2011 at 12:13 pm

  10. Wow fantastic shot Scott. I love the colors and the reflections.

    August 11, 2011 at 1:30 pm

  11. I’m a firm believer of never getting rid of old images. As you said, HD space is dirt cheap and you might miss out on a gorgeous image like this.

    August 13, 2011 at 3:10 pm

  12. Beautiful shot! It”s always nice to go back and find an image that turns out like this!

    August 15, 2011 at 2:04 pm

  13. Just beautiful soft colors. Great capture man.

    August 16, 2011 at 11:16 am

Leave a Reply

