Ten Mile View

Another sunset shot from the Ten Mile Range up in Summit County.  I posted this pic mainly to get some opinions from you all.  My wife really enjoys my shots with essentially no foreground but instead just a good looking background.  I imagine most of you photogs that check out my blog from time to time are like me and feel that a foreground subject is not only an added bonus but almost a necessity to make the shot.  Here’s my question.  Which way do most of you prefer and then give a quick question to your significant other, friend, co-worker and see what they think.  Is it truly more interesting with something in the near ground or is it just distracting away from the background.  Curious to hear all the answers.

8 responses

  1. I don’t know what there is to not love on this view. Wonderful tones, great scenery, and sweet processing. Most excellent!

    August 1, 2011 at 8:57 am

  2. Wonderful shot Scott. I agree with you in the sense most shots do better with a foreground, but of course there are always images that break this rule.

    August 1, 2011 at 9:05 am

  3. The light here is out of this world man. Love this shot as is!

    August 1, 2011 at 9:46 am

  4. Really cool view man.

    If you want my honest answer on the subject. I tend to lean towards your wife’s thinking. It just depends though. For me if the foreground is to cluttered or will detract from the scene I want to show, I just remove it. I know in landscapes you really want this, but compositionally there is no rule. Do what feels right 🙂

    August 1, 2011 at 9:51 am

  5. A foreground subject adds depth & interest. It isn’t necessary, but it makes for a better pic IMHO. However, this is certainly a great pic without a foreground subject!

    August 1, 2011 at 10:03 am

  6. I think it really depends on the image, its content, any message/feeling you’re trying to convey and what feels right to you. IMHO, most wide angle shots tend to need some foreground interest to anchor them but a busy or cluttered foreground can also hurt the rest of the image so I like to keep it to a minimum if I can. For me, the reflections in this image work great as foreground elements. They lead you directly to the focal points of your image and add a soft, relaxing mood. Wonderful job Scott!

    August 1, 2011 at 11:39 am

  7. Fantastic lighting man! Is this Dillion reservoir? I perfer the shots with a foreground to them. It adds more depth to the image; foreground, midground, background. Though this image works to me with the water acting as some interest as the foreground.

    August 1, 2011 at 11:39 am

  8. hansrico

    You captured some nice sunsets up there! Love the glow of the sun against the clouds!

    August 2, 2011 at 7:20 am

Leave a Reply

