Road to the Milky Way

Had some local weather hanging around last night.  Wasn’t really doing a whole lot early in the evening so I decided to bail south and take a few cracks at the emerging Milky Way.  I didn’t feel like taking the time to drive to a remote area last night so I just set up on a county road south of our housing edition.  I knew that the MW was going to be slightly bleached out due to the amount of haze from all the humidity in the air.  Pretty simple set up really.  I placed the camera directly in front of my pick up and lined up with the middle of the road and began a bulb exposure of 45 seconds.  A quick flash of the high beams illuminated the road plenty and then I let the camera do the work.  Pretty happy with what I ended up with.  The T1i doesn’t have the best noise quality for shots like these but I’ll take it for now.

On another quick note, the static in the atmosphere decided to change at about 11:00pm last night and I ended up having some of the best lightning captures I’ve had.  They will follow down the road sometime.  🙂

12 responses

  1. This is so cool man. What a great combo of lighting up the roadway just enough, plus getting the stars. Well done.

    July 21, 2011 at 9:02 am

  2. DUDE! This is freakin’ breathtaking man, what a shot

    July 21, 2011 at 9:42 am

  3. Beautiful capture Scott! Wow! Great idea to light the road with your truck lights!

    July 21, 2011 at 10:06 am

  4. Incredible image Scott. Very creative use of light on the road.

    July 21, 2011 at 10:36 am

  5. Nice shot man. I wish I could see the stars where I live, lol.

    July 21, 2011 at 10:37 am

  6. Awesome capture Scott! I’ve tried these a few times with the 60D but haven’t had much luck yet. With a 45sec exposure, did you have much trailing of the stars when viewed at 100%?

    July 21, 2011 at 10:42 am

    • A little but not bad. Definitely more so in the corners. I’ve had good luck with 30 seconds on a new moon and that is when I’ve had the best results.

      July 21, 2011 at 2:15 pm

  7. This is absolutely sick man, I love the lighting you got on the road with the brights.

    July 21, 2011 at 11:20 am

  8. Wow. Wow. Wow. Stunning shot Scotty. Wow again.

    July 21, 2011 at 11:22 am

  9. Scotty, this is awesome! Love how you lined up the road and used the headlights. Seriously great shot!

    July 21, 2011 at 1:34 pm

  10. Awesome photo Scott! Love the foreground of the road. Well done. We got your storms this morning. Pretty good storms.

    July 21, 2011 at 3:34 pm

  11. Cap'n Schwartz

    I want that picture – how do I get it coughijusthadabirthdayonjuly18thcough Sorry something stuck in my throat there

    July 21, 2011 at 4:46 pm

Leave a Reply

