Muted

I feel at times I need to take a more in-depth look at black and white photography.  I pretty much process all of my shots in color and never even think of what they would look like as a B&W.  The first time I saw this picture after it made it’s way through photomatix, I thought that this one would need to be a black and white shot due to the harshness of the sun.  I threw on a B&W filter and liked the look of it initially, but then I began to feel like it could use just a little bit of color on the tree for a little extra attention.  And this is what I came away with.  Something definitely a little different than my usual but I must say I’m happy with the results.

11 responses

  1. I really like this. Super composition, and nice choice adding some color to the tree.

    July 11, 2011 at 8:12 am

  2. I’m a sucker for lone trees. Love your composition and choice of muted tones.

    July 11, 2011 at 9:13 am

  3. Love the processing on this! Awesome comp man!

    July 11, 2011 at 10:13 am

  4. I love the subdued toning that you ended up with!

    July 11, 2011 at 12:38 pm

  5. I like it Scott. I’m a huge fan of bw photography and just recently purchased SilverEFx pro. Nice job with this one.

    July 11, 2011 at 2:09 pm

  6. Great shot! Love the sunburst! I wasn’t big into my B&W processing until I tried Silver Efex Pro2. It really is spectacular and I find myself trying it on more and more of my images!

    July 11, 2011 at 2:25 pm

  7. Very nice processing Scott. The composition with the sun in the corner rocks.

    July 11, 2011 at 5:38 pm

  8. Rating: ★★★★★
    Excellent composition. Really love that burst of light. Simply Awesome.

    July 11, 2011 at 10:07 pm

  9. The muted tones, big sky and solitary tree really work, then pow sunburst illuminating the tree and bathing it in colour, stunning

    July 12, 2011 at 12:17 am

  10. Very nice. I love that little ray of light moving by the tree.

    July 12, 2011 at 1:14 am

  11. Absolutely love the isolation here. Great work

    July 12, 2011 at 11:39 am

Leave a Reply

