Monument Rocks – Up Close

Another set of brackets from the trip to Monument Park.  Driving up we knew that we were going to arrive either just shortly after the rain had ceased or while it was still occurring.  I was trying to capture as many different shots as I could I can’t tell you for sure whether it was raining or not with certainty but I’m pretty sure it was still sprinkling.  This made for some pretty muddy conditions but at the time I didn’t even think about how it would affect the outcome of our shots.  I remember thinking that I wouldn’t like the muddy wet conditions and it would diminish the look I was expecting to get.  Well, now that I have had a chance to process a few of the images, I have no doubt the the wet reflections have added to the image quite substantially (in my opinion).  Not only does it provide a little foreground filler but is also amplifies the light reflected off the ground that I know would not be as bright without the rain.  It’s always nice to get lucky and have these conditions presented to you.

13 responses

  1. The images from this outing have been fantastic! The rain on the desert floor really made them very interesting.

    June 24, 2011 at 5:28 am

  2. Awesome. Very nice.

    June 24, 2011 at 7:40 am

  3. I do believe we have a new winner in the most awesome Scott Ackerman photo award. The framing, the tones, and the processing are all friggin spot on spectacular. Great work man!

    June 24, 2011 at 8:20 am

  4. Wow Scott. This has to be one of my faves from your. Holy cow!

    June 24, 2011 at 8:31 am

  5. I think this is my favorite from the series. Breathtaking.

    June 24, 2011 at 8:38 am

  6. This is stunning! Well done Scott!

    June 24, 2011 at 8:57 am

  7. Jose Vazquez

    This is awesome! Some amazing colors! Love the sun through the opening.

    June 24, 2011 at 11:24 am

  8. Rob Graham

    Amazing color and light. Assuming this was 6/11, I was almost there that evening, but decided to go up to the Smoky Valley Ranch instead. I was there the night before for some night photography. I thoroughly enjoy shooting out there :). I bet the mud was horrible though; been there during a couple storms and it wasn’t pretty.

    June 24, 2011 at 11:44 am

  9. Rich Bassett

    Spectacular! – I love the colors and the framing. This shot makes the desert look like a beach on some tropical island as the tide goes out.

    June 24, 2011 at 12:00 pm

  10. Breathtaking! What a beautiful place to be standing!

    June 24, 2011 at 1:18 pm

  11. Beutiful! Love how you can see all the details in the rocks!

    June 24, 2011 at 2:14 pm

  12. Stunning photo Scott – absolutely spot on… you should have no problem selling this in your local art gallery!

    June 26, 2011 at 8:52 pm

  13. Obviously I’m catching up here, and boy was it worth coming by. You shots these pass 2 weeks are magnificent and this one really stands out.

    July 9, 2011 at 6:59 pm

Leave a Reply

