Tranquil

Caught this little scene off the side of the highway on the drive back home this weekend.  Knew it would be a good setup with the lone tree in the wheat field.  Almost missed the whole thing as it was behind a batch of trees from the east.  Talked the family into a little more photo time on top of the already long drive home.  So I made a quick U-turn and headed down the dirt road.  The wheat is still growing at this time so there is some green mixed in with the gold, so I may have to see if I can sneak over to the same field once the wheat matures.  Added a second edit of B&W, as I like both versions but I think the colored is my favorite.

11 responses

  1. I am digging that b/w version. I like how you can see the lines in the field. Now I just want a good book and to be chilling out under that tree. Such a peaceful shot!

    June 8, 2011 at 8:48 am

  2. The color version is great but the b/w version really sets that “lonely tree” mood! Nice shot and great catch!

    June 8, 2011 at 9:02 am

  3. Both are great Scott. I think I like the color one a little more with the sky contrasting against the golden wheat.

    June 8, 2011 at 9:40 am

  4. Dig this Scott – always love a minimalist composition.

    June 8, 2011 at 9:42 am

  5. i really like the colored version as well, but both are great 🙂

    June 8, 2011 at 10:09 am

  6. Really love these shots man, incredible work

    June 8, 2011 at 10:37 am

  7. Love the contrast between the warm and cool tones in the color image. You can feel the rhythm of the wheat blowing in the wind. Thanks for sharing some peace and quiet during the middle of the week!

    June 8, 2011 at 11:54 am

  8. They’re both great shots Scott but the B&W really imparts a feeling of loneliness. Love them both.

    June 8, 2011 at 1:17 pm

  9. I’m really torn between both. The b&w version really makes the lines in the field more apparent, but I really love the color of the grass. Either way, great find and capture!

    June 9, 2011 at 10:51 am

  10. Pingback: Lone Harvest Sunset « Ax Photography

  11. I have to say that I like the color version the best. I think it works better with the sky. While I like the black and white process you used, it screams out for a more dramatic sky.

    July 8, 2011 at 1:42 am

Leave a Reply

