Sunset on the Rocks

Sounds like a  good drink, doesn’t it.  Today’s shot is from a nature preserve in central Kansas called Cheyenne Bottoms.  Never really took the time to visit the place in the past, but one night as we were driving back from a KSU football game, I knew there was going to be a good sunset and I took my chances with the nature preserve.  I wasn’t disappointed.  A long gravel road splits a ‘lake’ right down the middle giving me plenty of options for where to set up for a nice sunset reflection.  Hope to get a chance to get back and see what else it has to offer.

10 responses

  1. Love the reflection and the composition. I love simple scenes like this!

    May 26, 2011 at 8:18 am

  2. Oh wow, those colors are just magical man. I could sit here for hours!

    May 26, 2011 at 8:53 am

  3. Great soft colors!

    May 26, 2011 at 9:36 am

  4. I can’t believe this is in Kansas… I was certain it was a coastline in San Diego. Great shot! 🙂

    May 26, 2011 at 9:49 am

  5. Beautiful scene and great job with the foreground!

    May 26, 2011 at 10:13 am

  6. Yes, it does sound like a good drink! As far as the shot goes, love the way you framed everything.

    May 26, 2011 at 10:27 am

  7. Beautiful comp and reflections Scott!

    May 26, 2011 at 2:33 pm

  8. Amazing reflection, Scott! Awesome shot!

    May 26, 2011 at 3:32 pm

  9. Kristi stole my comment. Never would have guessed this is Kansas. Just beautiful.

    May 27, 2011 at 3:04 pm

  10. Brian Scott

    Sweet photo. I love the detail on the rocks in the foreground.

    May 31, 2011 at 11:17 am

Leave a Reply

