Back Nine Beauty

Today’s post is a shot from the storms that blew up the sky last Thursday to my east.  I had to drive (very fast) south of town a ways to get a full view of the storm before the sun set and I lost the amazing orange color.  This is a four shot panoramic on a line of storms that was ~80 miles long.  It was amazing how fast these things blew up.  I have a time lapse of them starting to fire that I will throw up later.

I’m thinking I may start a TimeLapse Tuesday or a Film Friday where I try to post a timelapse once a week, but we’ll see how often I’m able to get out and shoot one.  I was able to finish my TL panning system this weekend using a Meade telescope with celestial tracker for smooth panning shots.  Can’t wait to test her out.

Hope everyone had a great weekend.

(click the picture to see it larger with more detail)

12 responses

  1. Stellar shot. I really like that you have a bit of lightning on the right side. Cannot wait to see how your next TL goes with the new hardware 🙂

    May 23, 2011 at 8:35 am

  2. Damn! Now thats a storm!

    May 23, 2011 at 9:20 am

  3. I love watching storms roll in – great capture with the panoramic!

    May 23, 2011 at 9:23 am

  4. Incredible! I miss the storms from KS.

    May 23, 2011 at 10:03 am

  5. Very impressive photo.

    May 23, 2011 at 10:32 am

  6. Holy Smokes that’s nuts! Certainly looks menacing…

    May 23, 2011 at 11:01 am

  7. Amazazing! Great shot!

    May 23, 2011 at 12:53 pm

  8. Stunning. This image makes my soul happy.

    May 23, 2011 at 1:17 pm

  9. Wow dude…these are the shots I crave…amazing structure and beauty.

    May 24, 2011 at 12:32 am

  10. Awesome shot Scott – Those storms down south are so scary! I don’t think I could live in that area.

    May 24, 2011 at 6:38 am

  11. Wow, another gorgeous shot!!! Breathtaking!

    May 30, 2011 at 7:09 pm

  12. Pingback: » Skies up here… Jan Winther Photography

Leave a Reply

