Galactic Center

This is a shot from last summer that I never got around to processing.  At the time, the fastest glass I had was my 24-70 f/2.8.  Well, on a crop body, 24mm isn’t all that wide.  However, it was wide enough to capture the most interesting part of the Milky Way in my opinion.  I always try to leave my EXIF data intact so people can see the settings I use to get my shots.  In this case, this one was 24mm, f/2.8, 1600 ISO for 30 seconds.

Was hoping to get a time lapse of the moon rise last night but a solid layer of clouds near the horizon ended that plan.  Not to mention the 40 mph wind.  Won’t be able to get any good Milky Way shots for probably another week due to the large bright moon.  I guess I’ll have to find something else to shoot in the mean time.  Half way through the week y’all, almost time for another weekend!

8 responses

  1. I could stare at photos of the Milky Way all day long. Love this.

    May 18, 2011 at 8:45 am

  2. I like how you kept a little bit of city at the bottom for a bit of a size comparison. Absolutely awesome shot man!

    May 18, 2011 at 8:51 am

  3. These shots are so cool. I wonder if I can do that from my back yard. To much light pollution i think. But im gonna try!

    May 18, 2011 at 9:03 am

  4. Amazing man! The more I see this stuff the more I want to try it!

    May 18, 2011 at 9:53 am

  5. Just amazing!

    May 18, 2011 at 11:23 am

  6. Amazing shot! Love the little light burst at the bottom too!

    May 18, 2011 at 12:12 pm

  7. Beam me up Scotty! Thats great stuff!

    May 18, 2011 at 6:21 pm

  8. Simply awe inspiring

    May 18, 2011 at 11:56 pm

Leave a Reply

