Moon to the Milky Way

First time lapse for me.  Hopefully first of many.  I really enjoyed giving this a go.  I attempted one of these during a partial lunar eclipse last year and it was a big time bomb.  There is no question the addition of an intervalometer is just huge.

Burned through two batteries while shooting from 10:51 pm until 4:43 am.  Used JPEG for all the shots to limit file size and since I was just testing things out, I wasn’t planning on processing each shot.  As you can see about 3/4 through the video I had to gradually change shutter speed and ISO in order to capture the much dimmer Milky Way.  This was a process that took about 20 minutes to make it appear gradual in the video.  Same thing with the turn, but that didn’t turn out as smooth as I’d hoped but still okay.

Really bummed there were so many clouds but I also think the clouds helped add to the scene.  I was just hoping they were going to clear out for good once I switched over to the Milky Way.  They did help a little however to dial down the bright moon as it sank towards the horizon.

Don’t know why I shot in vertical mode, and not very excited that I did.  Just doesn’t work well with video aspect ratios.  Will definitely try to avoid that in the future.

Big thanks to Ken Bonfield for his awesome sounds.  Works really well with the sequence.

10 responses

  1. Nice job with the time lapse. I like the clouds blowing through, it added a nice touch. I cannot wait to see how you grow and hone this skill in the coming months!

    May 17, 2011 at 7:51 am

  2. Kudos to you for trying something new. Everything is a learning lesson. It is a good start.

    May 17, 2011 at 8:29 am

  3. Wow that’s cool. I see your using a 500D for this also? What kinda of intervalometer (SP?) are you using for this?

    I like how you see the clouds going one way and the stars going another.

    May 17, 2011 at 10:02 am

  4. I picked up a Pearstone Shutterboss from B&H from a recommendation from Jesse Pafundi. Really think it’s going to work out nice. A ton of different options (manual shutter release, lock down shutter release, single long exposure, etc…) Here’s the link: http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/690411-REG/Pearstone_RC_C1_RC_C1_ShutterBoss_Remote_Switch.html

    May 17, 2011 at 10:32 am

  5. Sweet man, that is so cool! It’s a great start to your timelapse journey!

    May 17, 2011 at 11:03 am

  6. Very cool stuff!

    May 17, 2011 at 12:12 pm

  7. Great go for the first time! I’d like to see more nighttime with the Milky way! 🙂

    May 17, 2011 at 12:49 pm

  8. Turned out great Scott! Can’t wait for more.

    May 17, 2011 at 7:48 pm

  9. Great TL! They are a ton of fun. Looking forward to your next one.

    May 18, 2011 at 12:01 pm

    • Thanks. You may be hearing from me often in the near future. I will have lots of questions. Do you use any time of panning mount at all?

      May 18, 2011 at 12:06 pm

Leave a Reply

