Twilight

Hope you don’t mind star scenes and night shots.  If you do, you may not like the direction this blog is heading.  I have two main subjects that I like to shoot during the spring/summer months and they are both in the sky.  Basically anything to do with the stars and thunderstorms.

Today’s shot is from some outdoor test shots to compare some of the custom functions available on my Canon camera.  I wanted to test out High ISO Noise reduction and Long Exposure NR to see if it would improve what it says – the noise.  I, unfortunately, couldn’t tell a difference between the shots.  Adding the dark frame in camera didn’t seem to change the noise level at all…?

Also wanted to throw out a cool computer program that I came across last night while searching for Milky Way rise and set times.  The program is called – “Stellarium”.  Really cool program that is a live view of your sky and it even stays real time.  You can fast forward to see what is going to be up later as well as turn on satellite tracking to see where they will travel in the sky.  Not to mention it is a freeware program.  Give it a look, solid program.  Stellarium

8 responses

  1. Nicely done Scotty – wish we could see stars this clearly in NYC 🙂

    May 9, 2011 at 8:22 am

  2. Thanks for the link to the program. You have rekindled my desires to shoot at night and I am really looking forward to your Milky Way shots the rest of this year!!

    May 9, 2011 at 8:25 am

  3. I love star shots Scott, it’s one of the things that made me fall in love with photography. Personally, I saw better results with my Nikon without the long exposure noise reduction on. I’d be interested in hearing any other thoughts you have on those settings. Keep up the great work!

    May 9, 2011 at 9:25 am

  4. Very nice… makes me want to do some night time photography again too!

    May 9, 2011 at 9:29 am

  5. Great shots so far!

    I wish I could get something like this. Sadly I think my dSLR runs a bit on the hot side. 😦

    That program is amazing also. I downloaded it a while ago as a learning aid for my kids – and myself. It’s pretty amazing.

    May 9, 2011 at 10:22 am

  6. Great shot Scott! Looking forward to more of these. I may need to pack up and head out to the fields to try my hand at astro-photography!

    May 9, 2011 at 10:31 am

  7. Great shot, Scott!

    May 9, 2011 at 10:45 am

  8. Nicely done. Would like to try some of this myself!

    May 9, 2011 at 2:58 pm

Leave a Reply

