‘Just My Yucca’

Another Yucca shot from Tuesday night.   Really thought I was going to have another good sunset under a rain shower tonight but alas, the KS wind had to kick up.  I really like my tripod, but I don’t think it will be as steady as I need in 45 mph wind.

Hope everyone has a good Cinco De Mayo today.  I’m hoping mine will be good if a certain package arrives in the mail like it should.  Over the weekend I was able to track down a Tokina UWA lens and it should be here tomorrow.  These may be my last shots with my Sigma 10-20.  Might have to stay up late this weekend to test out the f/2.8 on some milky way/star scenes.

10 responses

  1. Great photo, and good luck with the Milky Way! 🙂

    May 5, 2011 at 12:28 am

  2. Love the yellow here. I hope you love that Tokina as much as I do.

    May 5, 2011 at 1:07 am

  3. Nice one Scotty! Awesome glow in the background. Best of luck with the Tokina – hope it comes and you can get some star shots in!

    May 5, 2011 at 8:30 am

  4. Would love to see some milky way shots! Great shot today btw.

    May 5, 2011 at 9:48 am

  5. lol, love the title. Nice pun. Great image.

    What MM lens did you end up getting? IDK if you have ever used a Tokina before, but everyone I have has been built like a tank. I swear the 12-24 is explosion proof…

    May 5, 2011 at 10:26 am

    • I purchased the AT-X 116 11-16mm f/2.8. Ever since I purchased my first DSLR I’ve loved taking star scenes and long exposures. I experimented with a couple of Milky Way shots in the past with my Sigma lens but the f/4 limited me in those type of shots. I’ve loved my Sigma 10-20 and that is the only area that it didn’t fulfill what I wanted. Cant wait to try it out.

      May 5, 2011 at 10:34 am

  6. Love the warm tones from the sun in this shot. Can’t wait to see what’s coming with the new glass.

    May 5, 2011 at 10:52 am

  7. What tripod do you have? I am in the market for one 🙂 Love the shot with the sun peeking through the leaves! Good luck with the new glass!

    May 5, 2011 at 1:14 pm

    • I have a Monfrotto 190XPROB with a 498rc2 Ball head. First good tripod I have owned. Have always used the wal-mart brand or free ones that come with a camera. Makes all the difference in the world.

      May 5, 2011 at 2:30 pm

  8. Beauty of a shot!

    May 17, 2011 at 11:27 am

Leave a Reply

