Yucca and the Sun

The family and I were having dinner on the patio when I noticed a lot of thin cirrus clouds moving in from the west.  I didn’t see any clouds that would interfere with the sun near the horizon so I was completely convinced we were going to have  a good sunset.  I grabbed the gear and headed down the road.  About a mile south of my home is miles and miles of native grass, and I’ve been wanting to get some Yucca plant shots for quite a while.  Figured now was as good a time as any.  Needless to say the sunset was not what I was hoping for, but I’m happy with what I came away with.

Today’s shot is the first 9 exposure HDR that I actually am happy with.  Usually with such a large dynamic range, you are left with blown highlights or a very overcooked look.  This one seemed to work out pretty well.

5 responses

  1. Very nice shot, although I can’t imagine working with 9 brackets. Of course, my camera has to be set manually just to do 3.

    <— Needs new camera!

    May 4, 2011 at 12:29 am

  2. Very nice. I typically don’t mind a bit of a blown out highlight when shooting directly into the sun.

    May 4, 2011 at 12:43 am

  3. Fantastic work! Love the flare and simple subject. Great job Scott!

    May 4, 2011 at 9:06 am

  4. Great job with the light here. I think the saturation is spot on!

    May 4, 2011 at 10:35 am

  5. Worked out very well indeed! Love how the sun’s god-beams mimic the yucca’s sword-shaped leaves. Beautiful repeating elements, Scott! I could go on & on about the about the whole look & feel . . . just love it!

    May 4, 2011 at 11:16 am

Leave a Reply

