Spring Shower

Quick shot from last night.  I’m getting to the point where I’ll have to start tapping into the archive shots if I don’t get my butt into gear soon.  Looked out the back sliding doors last night and saw a nice little shower off to the north with a good looking rain curtain.  Grabbed my gear and headed out the door.  I’ve always known about a service road that leads behind a few houses in our housing community but had never explored it.  Probably because of the large ‘No Trespassing’ and ‘Violators Will Be Prosecuted’ signs, but I was assured it was meant for dirtbikes and ATVs.  Along this road was a large native grass field on the north side that I thought would make for a nice foreground area, so I ventured on down the road.

I took a few captures and was happy with what I got and began the drive back to the house.  About a mile down the road, I noticed the sun was beginning to peak out form beneath a large cloud bank to the west and began to illuminate the rain under the shower.  Sure enough, on the right side, a little rainbow began to show up.  So of course I had to turn right back around and this is what I came away with.

3 HDR images merged into a panorama using PS photomerge.

11 responses

  1. It’s raining rainbows!! Great pano.

    May 3, 2011 at 8:45 am

  2. Awesome perspective Scotty – like that rainbow in the distance!

    May 3, 2011 at 8:47 am

  3. Great capture. That rainbow made for a nice touch.

    May 3, 2011 at 8:54 am

  4. That is an amazing image! Seriously, thanks for taking the time to make it and share it. Wow!!!

    May 3, 2011 at 10:02 am

  5. Stellar pano. Love it.

    May 3, 2011 at 10:53 am

  6. Just beautiful…makes me cry for storms out here.

    May 3, 2011 at 11:16 am

  7. I thought No Trespassing, keep Out, etc were code for “Good stuff over here!”

    Once again, it proves correct.

    May 3, 2011 at 11:41 am

  8. Awesome shot dude! Love that rainbow in the distance.

    May 3, 2011 at 12:04 pm

  9. Awesome pano! Great job!

    May 3, 2011 at 12:40 pm

  10. I’d love to see a rainbow shower. I was hoping for one all weekend at Monument Valley, and when it finally happened, it wasn’t in a good photo spot. Great capture!

    May 3, 2011 at 2:43 pm

  11. Absolutely gorgeous. This shot makes my soul happy.

    May 4, 2011 at 12:40 am

Leave a Reply

