The Windsor Hotel: Relativity

Today’s post is likely our last for a while in the Windsor Hotel series.  I’ve got one more of a set of stairs that I like but I’m not really sure how much I like it yet.  So I’m going to hold off on it for a while.  Today’s post keeps us in the amazing atrium.  This was probably my favorite spot to shoot inside the hotel.  3 stories of open ceilings with really cool stairs on both sides of the atrium and boardwalk balconies stretching the length of the hotel.  Pretty impressive construction for being 120 years old.

Today’s shot is titled Relativity because as soon as I saw it, for some reason, it reminded me of an M.C. Escher drawing.  Growing up I had an M.C. Escher book of all of his drawings and I was always impressed with his creativity.  I did a quick search to find which one I thought this reminded me of and I found it right away.  It is the drawing titled – ‘Relativity’.

I have two different crops today.  Not really sure which I like better.  I like the more intimate feel of the cropped version but I like the whole stairs being in the first shot.  Tell me your thoughts on it.

Quick note: Tomorrow is the deadline for the next Lego Wars challenge and I captured and processed mine about 12:30AM last night as we had some left over rain water around from the past couple of days.  Look for it to drop on the blog tomorrow morning.

10 responses

  1. Fantastic image. I really like the dreamy feel combined with the b/w setup. Love it!!

    April 28, 2011 at 8:25 am

  2. For me, the first one takes the pick. The are both very good, but there are something about the first one that speaks more to me than the second. I have a feeling its the over all look you would have being at the bottom of the stairs. I also like the paneling on the left side leading up the stairs. It feels more complete than on the second image.
    On the other hand the second has a nice detail in the dominating post which leads my eyes in to the rest of the picture. In the first image the post has a more neutral look.

    Tough choice… 🙂

    April 28, 2011 at 8:35 am

  3. I think I like the first best because it shows you the start of the stairs so you know where you are in relation to the room. Great shot!

    April 28, 2011 at 9:26 am

  4. Dude this is really fantastic. Love the soft glow. Im always a fan of seeing the beginning (start of the stairs) and end to something so I dig the uncropped. Really great shot Scotty.

    April 28, 2011 at 9:39 am

  5. Huge fan of Escher, and this shot is fantastic. I think I enjoy the first crop first…I like seeing the entire stairway opening up at the bottom.

    April 28, 2011 at 9:46 am

  6. I also like the first on Scott. Great job, this is an awesome photo!

    April 28, 2011 at 9:55 am

  7. cool! and dang it, now I’m going to have to go home and dig out my M.C E book later.

    April 28, 2011 at 10:20 am

  8. Love the framing on the uncropped version personally.

    April 28, 2011 at 11:42 am

  9. Gotta go with everyone else on this one… the first one gets my vote. Well done!

    April 28, 2011 at 12:21 pm

  10. The top one is the best. Really cool and awesome treatment!

    April 28, 2011 at 8:35 pm

Leave a Reply

