Curiosity

Different style of post from me today.  The family and I went to the zoo early Saturday for a quick picnic and of course I brought along the Canon.  My wife is always wanting new pics of the boys and that just gives me an excuse to practice my portrait skills which is fine with me.  In this shot, my oldest son was being distracted by the Flamingos off in the distance and of course he had to get a better view than looking through the huge gaps in the fence.

On a quick processing note, I’ve discovered a new use for Photmatix Pro.  We were really limited on the time that we could visit the zoo with all kinds of scheduling conflicts so we pretty much were there in some very harsh overhead light.  I discovered that if I ran my single RAW files through photomatix and used the ‘tone compressor’ aspect of the software, it did an unbelievable job toning down the overblown highlights.  It really gave the images a whole new look that I could start my processing from.  If you’re ever stuck shooting in extremely harsh sun, give it a try.  Hope everyone had a great weekend.

Canon T1i, 85mm @1.8

6 responses

  1. Awe! What a great photo!

    April 11, 2011 at 8:41 am

  2. Scott… This is awesome. I Love it!

    April 11, 2011 at 9:34 am

  3. That is adorable. It’s really fun to watch and listen to kids at the zoo when they’re discovering new things.

    April 11, 2011 at 9:56 am

  4. Great shot! I’m digging your portait work! Good tip on the Tone compressor… I’ll have to try that out.

    April 11, 2011 at 11:50 am

  5. Wow, what a great shot, Scott! Love it!

    April 11, 2011 at 11:51 am

  6. I just stumbled across this photo this morning on POTN as I was looking at the 85mm thread and then I came here this afternoon and saw it here. Had no clue it was yours or that you had posted it. funny how you can come across random things like this on the net. Maybe I’m just spending too much time browsing the net instead of working. 🙂

    April 12, 2011 at 3:30 pm

Leave a Reply

